close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Early Literacy

Hi, I'm Kristi. Stop by our “Grow a Reader” area behind the Ask Me Desk for opportunities to learn vocabulary, social skills, problem-solving, and more through dramatic play. We also offer table activities designed to promote early literacy tasks such as sorting and skills that build fine motor control. Children who develop specific skill sets through playing, reading, writing, singing, and talking enter Kindergarten ready to begin the task of learning to read. Contact us at geneva.library@gpld.org or call us at 630-232-0780 if you have questions.

1,000 Books Before Kindergarten

This early literacy program is designed for children ages birth through the first day of Kindergarten. Reading with your child strengthens your bond and provides them with skills which will help them when the time comes for them to begin the task of learning to read. Come to the Library to get started!

Book Log

Learn more about this national early literacy initiative at: https://1000booksbeforekindergarten.org/

Early Literacy Kits

These kits contain a variety of items which will help develop the skills a child needs in order to be ready to learn to read. Early Literacy Kits can be checked out for 28 days.

Preschool Fair

Find out which school is right for your child. This annual event allows parents to drop in and speak with representatives from preschools in Batavia and Geneva.

Preschool Fair brochure 2017

Interested in St. Charles preschools? Please contact St. Charles Public Library for more information about their Preschool Fair.

Sign up for our preschool eNewsletter

Upcoming Preschool Events

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Mon, Dec 10, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Tue, Dec 11, 10:00am - 11:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Dec 11, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Peck Farm - Orientation Barn
Wed, Dec 12, 10:00am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Dec 14, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sun, Dec 16, 1:00pm - 1:45pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Dec 18, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Wed, Dec 19, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Dec 21, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sat, Dec 22, 10:00am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Thu, Dec 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Dec 28, 10:00am - 10:45am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Jan 04, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sat, Jan 05, 10:00am - 10:30am

World Martial Arts Academy, 316 Anderson Blvd, Geneva
Tue, Jan 08, 10:00am - 10:30am

Peck Farm - Orientation Barn
Wed, Jan 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Jan 11, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Fri, Jan 11, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sun, Jan 13, 1:00pm - 1:45pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Mon, Jan 14, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Jan 15, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Wed, Jan 16, 9:30am - 10:00am

Johnson's Mound Forest Preserve, 41W600 Hughes Road, Elburn
Thu, Jan 17, 9:30am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Jan 18, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sat, Jan 19, 10:00am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Jan 22, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 23, 10:00am - 11:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Thu, Jan 24, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Mon, Jan 28, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 30, 10:00am - 10:45am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Feb 01, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Fri, Feb 01, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sat, Feb 02, 10:00am - 10:30am

Yellow Aura Yoga, 27 N. 2nd St, Unit 101, Geneva
Mon, Feb 04, 10:00am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Feb 05, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Feb 05, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Thu, Feb 07, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Feb 08, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Mon, Feb 11, 9:30am - 10:00am

Peck Farm - Orientation Barn
Wed, Feb 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Thu, Feb 14, 10:00am - 11:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Feb 15, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Fri, Feb 15, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sat, Feb 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Feb 19, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Tue, Feb 19, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Thu, Feb 21, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Meeting Room
Fri, Feb 22, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Sun, Feb 24, 1:00pm - 1:45pm

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Mon, Feb 25, 9:30am - 10:00am

Geneva Public Library District - Program Room
Wed, Feb 27, 9:30am - 10:00am

The Chilled Palette, 500 S. Third Street #117, Geneva
Mon, Mar 04, 11:00am - 11:30am